Flaming Lips - Clouds Taste Metallic

The same extraordinary madness that infected the best work of Brian Wilson rears its head on the shimmering and melodic Clouds Taste Metallic, a masterful collection which completes the Flaming Lips' odyssey into the pop stratosphere. The Pet Sounds comparisons are obvious -- two of the highlights are titled "This Here Giraffe" and "Christmas at the Zoo" -- yet not unfair; like Brian Wilson, Wayne Coyne has refined his unique vision into something both highly personal and powerfully universal. Similarly, while Coyne's lyrics remain as acid-damaged and inscrutable as ever, his densely constructed songs convey emotional complexities far beyond the scope of their head-case titles ("Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus With Needles," "Guy Who Got a Headache and Accidentally Saves the World"); galvanized by equal parts newfound maturity and childlike wonderment, Clouds Taste Metallic is both the Flaming Lips' most intricate and most irresistible work.


bulut on 10:11 pm said...

1. The Abandoned Hospital Ship Listen Listen Listen
2. Psychiatric Explorations Of The Fetus With Needle Listen Listen Listen
3. Placebo Headwound Listen Listen Listen
4. This Here Giraffe Listen Listen Listen
5. Brainville Listen Listen Listen
6. Guy Who Got A Headache and Accidentally... Listen Listen
7. When You Smile Listen Listen
8. Kim's Watermelon Gun Listen Listen
9. They Punctured My Yolk Listen Listen
10. Lightning Strikes The Postman Listen Listen
11. Christmas At The Zoo Listen Listen
12. Evil Will Prevail Listen Listen
13. Bad Days

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut