Yeah Yeah Yeahs - Show Your Bones (2006)

Discovered in the wake of the Strokes’ popularity and the subsequent
garage rock revival, New York’s artpunk trio Yeah Yeah Yeahs comprise
singer Karen O, guitarist Nicolas Zinner, and drummer Brian Chase. O met
Chase at Ohio’s Oberlin College and met Zinner through friends after she
transferred to N.Y.U. Zinner and O formed the band in 2000; originally,
they were a folky duo called Unitard, but they went electric after being
inspired by Ohio’s legendary avantpunk scene. After the drummer they
recruited intially bowed out, Chase joined the lineup. Yeah Yeah Yeahs
wrote a slew of songs at their first rehearsal and soon wound up
supporting the Strokes and the White Stripes, earning a significant buzz
for their artyyetsexy take on garage punk. In late 2001, Yeah Yeah
Yeahs released their selftitled debut EP, which they recorded with Boss
Hog’s Jerry Teel, on their own Shifty label...


bulut on 7:47 am said...

Early the next year the
band stepped into the international spotlight, appearing at South by
Southwest, touring the U.S. with Girls Against Boys, Europe with Jon
Spencer Blues Explosion, and headlining their own U.K. tour. Wichita
Recordings distributed the group’s EP in the U.K. and Touch and Go
reissued it in the States. In between tours, the group spent 2002
putting the finishing touches on their fulllength debut and playing
American dates with SleaterKinney, Liars, and Jon Spencer Blues
Explosion. Late that year, the band released the Machine EP to tide fans
over before their first fulllength. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs moved to
Interscope for their debut album, 2003’s Fever to Tell. Boasting a
cleaner sound and more eclectic songwriting than their EPs, the album
continued the band’s critical acclaim and also won them a fair amount of
commercial succes: The gorgeous ballad “Maps” became a hit in 2004 and
pushed Fever to Tell to gold status that year. Karen O also moved to Los
Angeles in 2004, making they Yeah Yeah Yeahs a bicoastal band. The group
took some time to pursue individual projects in 2005. O loaned her
vocals to “Hello Tomorrow”, a collaboration with producer Squeak E.
Clean that provided the soundtrack to a Nike shoe commercial directed by
Spike Jonze, while Zinner recorded with the side project Head Wound City
and also had a book of photographs, I Hope You Are All Happy Now,
published. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs reconvened in the studio that year to
record their second album with Clean as producer; jokingly, Clean said
that the album was about O’s cat and would be called Coco Beware, but
the album’s real title, Show Your Bones, was revealed soon after.
Released in spring 2006, the album was the band’s most mature, polished
work yet.

Track Listing:

01 Gold Lion 03:07
02 Way Out 02:51
03 Fancy 04:25
04 Phenomena 04:10
05 Honeybear 02:26
06 Cheated Hearts 03:58
07 Dudley 03:42
08 Mysteries 02:36
09 The Sweets 03:55
10 Warrior 03:43
11 Turn Into 04:06

pass =

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut