Sonic Youth - Self Titled

Sonic Youth is the debut album by Sonic Youth.

Sonic Youth is a rock group formed in New York City in 1981. Current personnel are:

  • Thurston Moore - guitars and vocals
  • Lee Ranaldo - guitars, vocals and organ
  • Kim Gordon - bass guitar, guitar, and vocals
  • Steve Shelley - drums

In their early career, Sonic Youth were associated with the No Wave art and music scene in New York City, but have outlasted most associated bands. Their music has since been described as "punk" (as in their documentary 1991: The Year Punk Broke), and they are part of the first wave of post-punk bands. They have found moderate mainstream success, and are generally seen as one of the leading alternative rock groups of their time.

Initially inspired by the noise experimentation of Glenn Branca (with whom most of the band have performed); as well as the heavy garage rock of The Stooges and the noise experimentation of The Velvet Underground, they were known for using a variety of unorthodox guitar tunings, and for applying screwdrivers or other preparations to guitars to alter the instruments' timbre.

Members of the band have released books of poetry and prose (a beatnik influence is evident in both their writing and lyrics), produced films, staged shows of visual art and more. There is also an abundance of musical material recorded and/or performed with other artists and side-projects. Sonic Youth can be said to be an artistic collective as much as a traditional rock/pop band.


bulut on 1:53 pm said...

1. "The Burning Spear" – 3:28
2. "I Dreamed I Dream" – 5:12
3. "She Is Not Alone" – 4:06
4. "I Don't Want to Push It" – 3:35
5. "The Good and the Bad" – 7:55

pass: qwerty

Anonymous said...

thanxalot ive been after the vinyl for 20 years!

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut