Sister Of Mercy - Floodland

[Modern Music Recommended]

Floodland is the second album by The Sisters of Mercy, released in 1987. Composed and produced by Andrew Eldritch, it marked a change of direction from guitar-oriented indie rocksynthesizer-based productions. towards

It includes, among other things, choral singing, typically bombastic Jim Steinman productions (on "Dominion/Mother Russia" and "This Corrosion") and the first and last piano-and-vocals-only Sisters song ("1959", the piano programmed on synthesizer). While far from a concept album, Floodland still has many recurring themes and images. The most obvious one is the flood itself, an erotic, post-apocalyptic reference to tidal floods after nuclear war.

  1. Dominion/Mother Russia (7:01)
  2. Flood I (6:22)
  3. Lucretia My Reflection (4:57)
  4. 1959 (4:09)
  5. This Corrosion (10:55)
  6. Flood II (6:47)
  7. Driven Like The Snow (6:27)
  8. Never Land (a fragment) (2:46)


bulut on 11:05 am said...

Thank you for visiting.

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut