Iron & Wine - The Creek Drank the Cradle

The Creek Drank The Cradle is the first full-length release from Iron & Wine (aka Sam Beam). It was released on September 24, 2002. The vinyl LP release came with a bonus 7" vinyl single. The promo CD for this album was released in a cardboard sleeve with completely different artwork.

Iron & Wine is the stage and recording name for Florida singer-songwriter Sam Beam. Raised in South Carolina, Beam released his first album, The Creek Drank the Cradle label in 2002; Beam wrote, performed, recorded, and produced every track on the album by himself at a studio in his home. The album features acoustic guitars, , on the Sub Popbanjo, and slide guitar; its music has been compared, variously, to that of Nick Drake, Simon and Garfunkel, Neil Young, Elliott Smith, and Ralph Stanley.

In 2003 The Sea & The Rhythm was released, an EP collecting other home-recorded tracks along the same lines as those on the debut. Beam's sophomore album, Our Endless Numbered Days (2004), was recorded in a professional studio with a significant increase in fidelity. The focus still lies on acoustic material, but the inclusion of other band members gives rise to a very different sound.

The Creek Drank the Cradle

Tracklist in comment


bulut on 4:32 pm said...

1. Lion's Mane
2. Bird Stealing Bread
3. Faded From The Winter
4. Promising Light
5. The Rooster Moans
6. Upward Over The Mountain
7. Southern Anthem
8. An Angry Blade
9. Weary Memory
10. Promise What You Will
11. Muddy Hymnal,

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut