Sepultura - Dante XXI (2006)

Dante XXI is a concept album by Brazilian thrash metal band Sepultura. It is based on the three sections of Dante Alighieri's The Divine Comedy, Inferno (hell), Purgatorio (purgatory), and Paradiso (paradise). The album has five tracks based on Inferno (with just the band), five tracks based on Purgatorio (featuring the band with guests and other instruments), and one track based on Paradiso (an instrumental). Covers of Judas Priest's Screaming for Vengeance, and Sick Of It All's "Scratch the Surface" have been recorded as b-sides for the album.

The first single from the album is Convicted In Life. It has been performed live, and is currently available to download from Sepultura's official website. A video for this track has been filmed and will be released soon. A clip of the track "Ostia" is also available on their page on Myspace.

The majority of critics have said that this is the best Sepultura album featuring Derrick Green on vocals. However, sales of this album are disappointing, though not unexpected, since all Sepultura's albums since Against have gradually had decreasing sales. This is also the last album featuring Igor Cavalera on drums.

Original ideas for this album included a symphonic metal album (much like Metallica's S&M album), and a concept album based on the movie A Clockwork Orange.

Dante XXI was originally titled "Dante 05", but was changed when it became clear that the album would not be released by the end of 2005.


bulut on 5:00 pm said...


01. Intro #4
02. Dark Wood of Error
03. Convicted in Life
04. City of Dis
05. False
06. Fighting On
07. Intro #2
08. Ostia
09. Burried Words
10. Nuclear Seven
11. Repeating the Horror
12. Intro #1
13. Crown and Miter
14. Intro #3
15. Still Flame

Post a Comment

Popular Posts of the Week


Modern Music 2011 | Designed by Bulut